LC Receives “Best Delegation” Award at Yale Model UN Conference


On January 18th, twenty-eight Loomis Chaffee students traveled down to New Haven, Connecticut to represent the LC Delegation at the 44th Yale Model United Nations conference. As one of those twenty-eight students, I can attest to the fact that the weekend was a whirlwind of committee sessions and ceremonies, with exploring New Haven and hanging out with friends thrown in the mix. From the minute we got there to the minute we left, every second was spent doing something, whether it be rushing to committee, grabbing food from Chipotle, or writing up resolutions.

Being new to Model UN, this Yale conference was my first MUN experience and it was downright amazing, with winning “Best Large Delegation” only making it better. There were so many schools in attendance at YMUN, but thanks to the hard work and continuous effort of the LC delegation, we were able to take home the title of best delegation. Besides best delegation, the LC delegation also had some members receive individual awards. Best Delegate awards went to Ramesh Shrestha, Robert Wang, and Julia Deitelbaum; Outstanding Delegate awards went to Amara Haider, Lucy Shao, and Clara Chen; and Honorable Delegate awards went to Rick Jatti, Eugene Kim, Minna Gao, Liam Scott, and Michael Zhou. Overall, the Loomis Chaffee Delegation did wonderfully at the 44th Yale MUN conference and walked away with new memories and great experiences.

Photo Credit: Anya Sastry